Dade Defeats Broward, 27-20, In An Instant All-Star Classic

Posted Jan 14, 2013

The bright lights focused on the future college stars of tomorrow at Sun Life Stadium in the 3rd Annual Miami Dolphins Dade-Broward All-Star Game, presented by Under Armour.

Days after Alabama won their third Bowl Championship Series (BCS) National Championship in four years by knocking off Notre Dame, 42-14. The bright lights focused on the future college stars of tomorrow at Sun Life Stadium in the 3rd Annual Miami Dolphins Dade-Broward All-Star Game, presented by Under Armour and hosted by the Greater Miami Athletic Conference (GMAC) and the Broward County Athletic Association (BCAA).

Prior to the game, Dade led the all-time series, 2-0, including last year’s 36-26 victory over Broward for the prestigious Superintendent’s Cup, awarded to the winning team. In this year’s all-star game, South Plantation’s Doug Gatewood led the Broward All-Stars while Coral Reef’s Chevas Clements took the helm for the Dade All-Stars.

After taking an early 3-0 lead, Broward extended their lead by Cypress Bay Quarterback Jaranta Lewis connecting with Northeast Running Back Timonte King for a touchdown, giving Broward a 10-0 lead after the first quarter.

Dade responded scoring 14 unanswered points led by Dr. Michael Krop Quarterback Keon Roman and South Dade Running Back William Cortes, each scoring a rushing touchdown in the second quarter to give Dade the lead going into intermission, 14-10.

After halftime, Broward regained momentum with Boyd Anderson Senior Quarterback Gregory Hankerson’s scoring a rushing touchdown, putting Broward back on top, 17-14. Later in the quarter, Miami Sunset Kicker Andy Valdes-Reico kicked a field goal for Dade to tie the game, 17-17, setting up for a historic moment in the Dade-Broward rivalry.

After both teams were unable to put together a scoring drive to break the tie in the fourth quarter, the game went into the first-ever overtime in the Miami Dolphins Dade-Broward All-Star series. Broward had the first possession of overtime and came away with a field goal by South Plantation Kicker Zachary Leatherman to give Broward a 20-17 lead. Dade responded with a field goal in overtime to tie the game, 20-20, resulting in a second overtime.

In the second overtime, Dade had first possession and scored a rushing touchdown by South Dade’s Running Back Cortes, his second rushing touchdown of the night, giving Dade the lead, 27-20. Broward had an opportunity to respond, but fumbled the snap on the first play and it was recovered by Dade to end the game.

The game featured five lead changes and two ties. With the win, Dade leads the all-time series, 3-0. After the game, Twan Russell, Director of Youth & Community Programs for the Miami Dolphins, commented on the game.

“The game was an instant classic,” said Russell. “Both teams battled back and forth from beginning to end. Congratulations to Dade on the win, but great effort from men on both teams.” Booker T. Washington’s Wide Receiver Nicholas Norris was named Miami Dolphins Offensive Most Valuable Player (MVP) while South Plantation’s Defensive Lineman Keon Knight named Miami Dolphins Defensive MVP.

All proceeds from the game were distributed between both counties to help support the funding of their football athletic programs. The Miami Dolphins donated over $20,000 towards the Miami-Dade and Broward Counties’ athletic programs through this game. Miami Dolphins Alumni Tight End Ed Perry (Dade) and Defensive Back Sean Hill (Broward) served as the honorary captains for the game.

The Miami Dolphins Youth Programs’ mission is to emphasize the importance of education, physical fitness, and positive choices for kids in a safe and fun environment. The Miami Dolphins Youth Programs’ vision is to prepare the next generation of leaders in staying physically active through our Junior Training Camps (JTC), Youth Football Clinics, and Youth Football Camps.

The Miami Dolphins and Sun Life Stadium continue to establish itself as the top venue in the state for high school football action by previously hosting high school football contests including St. Thomas High School v. Christopher Columbus High School, Miami Central High School v. Booker T. Washington High School, Miami Central High School v. Miami Northwestern High School, and the 3rd Annual Miami Dolphins Dade-Broward All-Star Game.
Game Pass: Miami Dolphins