Dolphins Trim Roster To 53 Players

Posted Aug 31, 2013

All nine draft picks among those who survive cutdown day.


Former Dolphins draft picks Austin Spitler and Kheeston Randall were among the 22 players released Sunday as the team got down to the NFL-mandated roster limit of 53 players.

Spitler was a seventh-round selection in 2010 who appeared in 43 games in his three seasons with the Dolphins, while Randall was a seventh-round pick in 2012 who appeared in 12 games as a rookie.

Also released on Saturday were four wide receivers — Chad Bumphis, Brian Tyms, Keenan Davis and Marvin McNutt, who had four catches for 99 yards and a game-winning 56-yard touchdown in the 24-21 victory against the New Orleans Saints in the preseason finale Thursday night.

The player with the longest NFL resume to be released Saturday was defensive end Antwan Applewhite, a five-year veteran who has played for San Diego and Carolina.

The other player released included QB Aaron Corp (waived-injured), CB De’Andre Presley, RB Jonas Gray, CB Julian Posey, S Keelan Johnson, S Jordan Kovacs, LB Lee Robinson, T Jeff Adams (waived-injured), G Chris Barker, C Sam Brenner, DE Tristan Okpalaugo, T Andrew McDonald, DT A.J. Francis, and DT Tracy Robertson.

All the players released Saturday are eligible for the practice squad except for Spitler, Randall and Applewhite. The Dolphins can establish their practice squad Sunday.

All nine members of the Dolphins’ 2013 draft class remained on the roster after the moves Saturday.

The initial 53-man roster, following Saturday’s cuts, breaks down this way by position:

Quarterbacks (3): Ryan Tannehill, Matt Moore, Pat Devlin
Running backs (4): Lamar Miller, Daniel Thomas, Mike Gillislee, Marcus Thigpen
Fullbacks (1): Evan Rodriguez
Wide receivers (4): Brian Hartline, Mike Wallace, Brandon Gibson, Rishard Matthews
Tight ends (3): Charles Clay, Dion Sims, Michael Egnew
Offensive linemen (9): Jonathan Martin, Richie Incognito, Mike Pouncey, John Jerry, Tyson Clabo, Nate Garner, Josh Samuda, Dallas Thomas, Will Yeatman
Defensive linemen (8): Olivier Vernon, Cameron Wake, Jared Odrick, Paul Soliai, Randy Starks, Derrick Shelby, Dion Jordan, Vaughn Martin
Linebackers (7): Koa Misi, Dannell Ellerbe, Philip Wheeler, Jason Trusnik, Jelani Jenkins, Jonathan Freeny, Josh Kaddu
Defensive backs (11): Brent Grimes, Dimitri Patterson, Chris Clemons, Reshad Jones, Kelcie McCray, Jimmy Wilson, Nolan Carroll, Jamar Taylor, Will Davis, Don Jones, R.J. Stanford
Specialists (3): Brandon Fields, Caleb Sturgis, John Denney

Latest Headlines

Game Pass: Miami Dolphins