Don Shula Honored As Lamar Hunt Award Winner

Posted Mar 6, 2013

Shula, 1972 Dolphins honored at the 101 Awards gala in Kansas City.

The National Football League’s all-time winningest coach, Don Shula, received the Lamar Hunt Award for Professional Football at the 43rd NFL 101 Awards gala in Kansas City. The award honors the life and legacy of Lamar Hunt while recognizing people who have helped shape the National Football League into the preeminent sports league in America.

In addition to honoring Shula, his 1972 Miami Dolphins squad – represented by former safety Dick Anderson – was also recognized on the 40th anniversary of the NFL’s only perfect season.

Other 101 Award winners were Peyton Manning (AFC Offensive Player of the Year), Adrian Peterson (NFC Offensive Player of the Year), J.J. Watt (AFC Defensive Player of the Year), Aldon Smith (NFC Defensive Player of the Year), Bruce Arians and Chuck Pagano (AFC Coaches of the Year) and Pete Carroll (NFC Coach of the Year).

The awards show was hosted by NFL Network sportscaster Paul Burmeister and CBS football analyst Rich Gannon, a former NFL Most Valuable Player and two-time 101 Award winner. It will be re-broadcast on the NFL Network Sunday, March 17, at 7 p.m. Eastern time.

Event proceeds will be directed to the Truman Medical Center Charitable Foundation.

Latest Headlines

Game Pass: Miami Dolphins