Landry And Albert Named To Pro Bowl

Posted Jan 20, 2016

Two members of the Dolphins offense received news on Wednesday that they are heading to next week's Pro Bowl in Hawaii.

The Dolphins will be represented at the 2016 Pro Bowl after all.

Wide receiver Jarvis Landry and tackle Branden Albert both were added to the Pro Bowl roster Wednesday as injury replacements for Antonio Brown of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Trent Williams of the Washington Redskins, respectively.

Landry, who shared team MVP honors with safety Reshad Jones, will be making his first Pro Bowl appearance. Landry set a franchise record in 2015 with 110 receptions, breaking the mark of 90 set in 1998 by O.J. McDuffie.

Landry becomes just the eighth wide receiver in Dolphins history to be selected to a Pro Bowl, joining Paul Warfield (1970-74), Nat Moore (1977), Mark Duper (1983-84, 1986), Mark Clayton (1984-86, 1988, 1991), Irving Fryar (1993-94), Chris Chambers (2005) and Brandon Marshall (2011).

Landry earned his Pro Bowl recognition following his second NFL season, joining Duper (1983) and Clayton (1984) as the only wide receivers in team history to accomplish that feat.

Albert will be making his second appearance in the Pro Bowl, but his first with the Dolphins. The invitation marks the culmination of a remarkable comeback for Albert, who missed the last seven games of the 2014 season because of a torn ACL but was able to work himself back into the starting lineup for the 2015 regular season opener at Washington.

Albert, who started 14 games for the Dolphins in 2015, was recognized as the team’s nominee for the Ed Block Courage Award.

Albert becomes the fifth Dolphins offensive tackle selected to the Pro Bowl, following Norm Evans (1972, 1974), Wayne Moore (1973), Richmond Webb (1990-96) and Jake Long (2008-11).

Center Mike Pouncey was voted to the original Pro Bowl team, but has had to withdraw from the game because of the foot/ankle injury he sustained in the game against the San Diego Chargers on Dec. 20 at Qualcomm Stadium.

This is the eight consecutive season a Dolphins offensive lineman has been selected to the Pro Bowl.

The 2016 Pro Bowl will be played Sunday, Jan. 31 at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu Hawaii at 7 p.m. ET and will be televised by ESPN.