NOTEBOOK: Dolphins' Starting CB And DE Are Declared Healthy And Ready

Posted Oct 20, 2013

CB Dimitri Patterson and DE Cameron Wake return against the Buffalo Bills.

The bye week was kind to Miami Dolphins starting cornerback Dimitri Patterson and two-time Pro Bowl defensive end Cameron Wake. Both players are active today, with Patterson making his first appearance since the season opener at Cleveland when he injured his groin.<br><br>
Wake, who injured his knee in the home opener against Atlanta and missed the Monday night game at New Orleans, played one series against Baltimore two weeks ago before he and the coaches determined he was going to be too limited. Both players worked extra hard during the bye rehabbing their respective injuries, intent on being available for this first divisional game on the schedule.<br><br>
So Miami’s inactives for today are middle linebacker Dannell Ellerbe, third-string quarterback Pat Devlin, rookie cornerback Will Davis, rookie running back Mike Gillislee, linebacker Josh Kaddu, rookie offensive tackle Dallas Thomas and guard Danny Watkins. Jason Trusnik starts at middle linebacker for Ellerbe and Nolan Carroll will start his fifth straight game in place of Patterson but first one with Patterson active. Defensive tackle Issako Aaitui, who was promoted from the practice squad on Saturday, is active for the first time.<br><br>
For the Bills, quarterbacks EJ Manuel and Matt Flynn, cornerbacks Justin Rogers, Brandon Burton and Brandon Smith, linebacker Ty Powell and guard Antoine McClain are inactive. Miami native Thad Lewis is starting at quarterback in place of Manuel.<br><br>
Team captains for the Dolphins today Pro Bowl guard Richie Incognito, Pro Bowl defensive tackle Randy Starks and Trusnik. The honorary captains are Jim Kiick, Louis Oliver and Kim Bokamper. … The South Florida Jubilee is performing the National Anthem and the Homestead Air Reserve Base Honor Guard is presenting the colors. … South Florida Jazzercise is the halftime entertainment.

Latest Headlines

Game Pass: Miami Dolphins