Skip to main content

Miami Dolphins Announce 2019 Team Award Winners

MIAMI GARDENS, Fla. – The Miami Dolphins today announced their team award winners for the 2019 season. Quarterback Ryan Fitzpatrick was named the Dan Marino Most Valuable Player and earned the Don Shula Leadership Award, wide receiver Albert Wilson was named the team's Ed Block Courage Award winner and defensive tackle Davon Godchaux earned the Nat Moore Community Service Award.

Fitzpatrick wins the Dan Marino Most Valuable Player award in just his first season with the Dolphins. He's the 15th player in team history to win the award in his first season with the team, joining Brent Grimes (2013), Matt Moore (2011), Chad Pennington (2008 co-winner), Ricky Williams (2002 co-winner), Zach Thomas (1996), Keith Byars (1993), Dan Marino (1983), David Woodley (1980), Delvin Williams (1978), Earl Morrall (1972), Paul Warfield (1970 co-winner), Nick Buoniconti (1969), Bob Griese (1967) and Joe Auer (1966). He becomes the eighth quarterback to earn the honor and first since Ryan Tannehill in 2014. Fitzpatrick recently surpassed the 3,000-yard passing mark for the fifth time in his career. He's the sixth Dolphins quarterback in team history to go over 3,000 yards and first since Tannehill in 2015. He's thrown for more than 300 yards in three of his past six games, including a career-high 419 passing yards in last week's win vs. Cincinnati. This award is voted on by South Florida media and the organization and was re-named the Dan Marino Most Valuable Player Award in 2000 to reflect the achievements of Hall of Fame quarterback and 12-time team MVP Dan Marino.

Fitzpatrick is also the winner of the Don Shula Leadership Award, as voted on by his teammates. He's just the fourth player in Dolphins history to win both the Don Shula Leadership Award and be named the Dan Marino Most Valuable Player in the same season since the leadership award was established in 1989. The others to win both in the same season include Chad Pennington (2008), Jason Taylor (2002 and 2006) and Dan Marino (1995). Fitzpatrick is just the sixth player to win the Don Shula Leadership Award in his first season with the team, joining Frank Gore (2018), Karlos Dansby (2010), Chad Pennington (2008), Junior Seau (2003) and Fred Barnett (1996). The Don Shula Leadership Award is voted on by the players and is given to the teammate who exhibits leadership on and off the field. It was re-named the Don Shula Leadership Award in 2005 to reflect the accomplishments of the Hall of Fame coach Shula.

Wilson is a first-time recipient of the team's Ed Block Courage Award and only the fourth wide receiver to earn the honor in team history joining Brandon Gibson (2014), O.J. McDuffie (1997) and Nat Moore (1984). Wilson's 2018 season was cut short due to a hip injury after just seven games. He also suffered a calf injury in the first week of the 2019 regular season. Despite the setbacks, Wilson has improved as the season has progressed. He's had his two most productive games of the year in the past two weeks, totaling five receptions for 59 yards (11.8 avg.) in Week 15 at the N.Y. Giants and catching seven passes for 79 yards (11.3 avg.) in Week 16 vs. Cincinnati. For the season, Wilson has appeared in 12 games with three starts, totaling 38 receptions for 292 yards (7.7 avg.) and one touchdown. Each year, all 32 teams select a player to receive the Ed Block Courage Award. The recipient symbolizes professionalism, great strength and dedication. The honoree also is a community role model.

Godchaux is a first-time recipient of the Nat Moore Community Service Award. It marks just the second time in team history a defensive lineman has won the award after defensive ends Trace Armstrong and Jason Taylor along with linebacker Zach Thomas shared the honor in 2000. The team's nominee for the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award, Godchaux has participated in numerous community service endeavors through the Dolphins' FOOTBALL UNITES™ program, bringing together positive societal change by uniting groups of different races, genders, sexual orientations, identities, abilities and faiths around the power of football. Godchaux also founded the Chaux Down Foundation, aiming to teach youth about the importance of nutrition and exercise. The Nat Moore Community Service Award is given each year to a Miami Dolphins player recognized for his involvement in the South Florida community. Moore spent 13 seasons in a Dolphins uniform, culminating by his placement on the Dolphins Honor Roll in 1999.

Related Content