Skip to main content
Presented by

Inside The Numbers: Recent Success Against Chargers

Breaking down the Dolphins-Chargers series from a statistical perspective:

  • Although the Dolphins hold a 16-13 advantage in the regular season series, the teams have scored almost the exact same number of points with Miami at 646 and the Chargers at 645.
  • Since the Chargers won nine of the first 14 meetings, the Dolphins are 13-6 in the past 19.
  • Since the Chargers' memorable 1981 playoff victory at the Orange Bowl, the Dolphins have won the last seven meetings in Miami. The run started in the 1982 playoffs and included victories in 1988, the 1992 playoffs, 1999, 2002, 2008, 2013 and 2014.
  • The Dolphins have scored 30 points or more in more than a fourth of the 33 meetings. They've done it nine times, topped by a high of 41 points in a 41-24 victory in 1967. They also reached the 30-point mark in the 1981 playoffs (41-38 overtime loss), 1982 playoffs (34-13), 1988 (31-28), 1991 (38-30 loss), 1992 playoffs (31-0), 2002 (30-3), 2014 (37-0) and 2016 (31-24).
  • Josh Rosen will become the 15th different quarterback to start a game against the Chargers this Sunday. The previous were Dick Wood (1966), Bob Griese (1967, 1968, 1969, 1972, 1974, 1977), Don Strock (1978), David Woodley (1980, 1981 playoffs, 1982 playoffs), Dan Marino (1984, 1986, 1988, 1991, 1992 playoffs, 1994 playoffs, 1995, 1999), Scott Mitchell (1993), Jay Fiedler (2000), Ray Lucas (2002), Brian Griese (2003), Gus Frerotte (2005), Chad Pennington (2008, 2009), Chad Henne (2011), Ryan Tannehill (2013-16) and Jay Cutler (2017).
  • Pennington (2009) and Henne (2011) both sustained season-ending injuries against the Chargers, while Griese missed most of the 1972 season after being injured against the Chargers.
  • The Dolphins have had two 300-yard passing performances against the Chargers in the regular season, both by Dan Marino. He passed for 338 yards in a 34-28 overtime loss in 1984 and for 329 yards in a 31-28 victory in 1988.
  • Four Dolphins quarterbacks have had games with three or more touchdown passes against the Chargers, and two of them were Hall of Famer Bob Griese and his son Brian. The others were Marino and Ryan Tannehill.
  • The Dolphins have had five 100-yard rushing performances against the Chargers, the last produced by Jay Ajayi in 2017 when he rushed for 122 yards. The others belong to Ricky Williams (143), Ronnie Brown (125) , Larry Csonka (106) and Bernie Parmalee (103).
  • The Dolphins have had nine 100-yard receiving games against Chargers by eight different players, most recently by DeVante Parker in 2016 when he had 103 yards. Mark Duper did it twice, and the following players each did it once: Mark Clayton (143), Howard Twilley (124), Chris Chambers (121), James McKnight (111), Tony Nathan (102) and Jim Mandich (101).
  • The longest completion by the Dolphins against the Chargers was a 77-yard pass from Ray Lucas to James McKnight in 2002.
  • Four Dolphins defensive backs have had two-interception games against the Chargers, including Brent Grimes in 2014 and Tony Lippett in 2016. The others were Patrick Surtain and Brian Walker.
  • The Dolphins held Philip Rivers to his third-lowest career passer rating (31.0) in their 37-0 shutout victory in Miami in 2014. Rivers also tied his career high with four interceptions in the 2016 game at San Diego.
  • Miami has scored two defensive touchdowns against the Chargers, Dick Anderson's 35-yard fumble return in 1972 and Kiko Alonso's game-winning pick-six in 2016.

Related Content